42 trip report, things to do and see in 42

 

42



"تأشيرة الدخول ستكون جاهزة خلال أسبوع واحد". "لا أستطيع أن آخذ يوم عطلة الأسبوع المقبل، ألا أستطيع أن أحصل عليها عاجلاً؟" انا سألت. "حسنا، ارجع بعد الغداء". أما فيما يتعلق بطلبات الحصول على التأشيرة، فإن سفارة سيراليون هي من أكثر السفارات سهولة.
سيراليون هي واحدة من تلك الجهات الفريدة التي لا يمكنك حتى البدء في صياغة التوقعات لها. هذه الزاوية الصغيرة في غرب أفريقيا معروفة عادة بماس الدم، والحرب الأهلية الوحشية، والمهاجمة من أزمة فيروس إيبولا، ومن المفهوم أنها ليست محشوة بالسائحين.

عندما هبطت في فريتاون، كان المطار عند مصب نهر، واضطررت إلى اتخاذ (أخذ) قارب صغير "التاكسي المائي" للوصول إلى المدينة. مع الأمواج المتلاطمة والأدخنة الخانقة القاذفة للقارب، كانت الركوبة بعيدة عن المتعة. كان صديقي سليمان قد رتب لي فندق ممتاز رخيص "موثوق به"، مما يعني غرفة مهدمة مع مروحة، صرصور، و 30 دقيقة من الكهرباء قبل انقطاع المولد، تاركني في الظلام مثل معظم المدينة.

 

مناجم الذهب والماس

بدأنا اليوم بقيادة السيارة لدة ( لمدة)خمسة ساعات إلى قرية حيث ينقبون عن الذهب والماس. كان الطريق سلساً حتى ماغبوراكا، ثم انحرف الرصيف بعيدا في المرآة الخلفية حيث أننا عبرنا خلال تلال ترابية ضخمة والمرور عدة مرات (طرق متعددة) عبر الغابة. أنه بدا من غير المتصور أننا كنا نتجه فعلياً نحو شيء ما.


 

عندما وصلنا إلى القرية، أدخلت للرئيس. "كثير من الناس يأتون إلى هنا من أجل الذهب ونحن بحاجة للتأكد من أنك لست هنا للقيام بأعمال تجارية" بعد مناقشة طويلة، سمح لي أن ألقي نظرة على المناجم. كانت المناجم أساسا عبارة عن حفر كبيرة حفرت يدوياً. لم يتم استخدام الآلات، مجرد مجارف ومعاول ودلاء ومناخل وأيدي عارية.


 

كان العمال يأخذون الحصى والوسخ إلى النهر وهم يتخللون العرق والوحل حتى يتمكنوا من نخلها للبحث عن الذهب والماس. مع مرور الوقت، كانت التربة الغنية بالحديد (الحديد الأحمر) قد حولت النهر إلى اللون الأحمر تماما. قدم لي أحد العمال بعض بذور الكولا التي كانت مريرة بشكل لا يصدق. لم يكن يأكلونها من أجل الطعم، ولكن لقمع الجوع.

عندما يتم العثور على الذهب، تقسم الحصيلة بالتساوي بين العمال. وهذا ما يضمن أن لا أحد يخفيها (يخفيه)ويحاول بيعها بيعه)بمفرده. كما أنهم لم يكونوا على علم بالسعر الفعلي للذهب في الأسواق الدولية. الحقيقة الغاشمة هي أن ستة أيام في الأسبوع تحت الشمس القاسية، وهؤلاء الرجال والنساء يغرقون أجسادهم الموجوعة ومجارفهم على ما يبدو في حفر أرض بلا قعر مع تجاهل تام للصحة والسلامة، قابضين مبلغاً زهيداً من شيء هدفه هو مجرد جعل المرأة في تدفق عالم آخر، أو لتزيين حمام فخم لشخص.
طلب مني عمال المنجم أن أحاول البحث عن الذهب في النهر، وأنا في الواقع وجدت بضع الكتل الذهبية الصغيرة في محاولتي الأولى. بدأ الجميع بعد ذلك مناداتي بـ "رجل محظوظ" . عدت مرة أخرى إلى القرية، وكان الجميع قد سمع، كانت جميع النساء الحوامل يطلبن مني تقبيل بطونهم على أمل "حظا سعيدا" سوف يرتد على ذريتهم في المستقبل.


 

سيراليون الريفية

ثم ذهبنا إلى قرية قريبة، حيث كان الترحيب من قبل صراخ الأطفال "أوبوتو! أوبوتو!" الكلمة المحلية للرجل الأبيض، على الرغم من أنني حاولت أن أشرح أنني مغربي، وليس كثيرا أوبوتو. هذه القرية لم تتغير تقريبا على مر القرون، مع عدم وجود مياه جارية ولا كهرباء ولا هواتف وقليل من الاتصال مع العالم الخارجي. كان معظم سكان القرية من مزارعي الأرز.

كان الجميع متحمسين ومبتهجين لفرصة الصداقة مع شخص غريب أجنبي، كانوا متشوقين جداً بشأن المغرب وطرح العديد من الأسئلة. ودعيت أيضا إلى لقاء بين الرئيس وممثلي القرية. بعد فترة من الوقت كان الرئيس ينظر إلى وجهي وقال انهم يريدون مني أن أقول شيئاً أيضاً.
قضيت الليل في منزل من الطوب اللبن، ولكن بقيت مستيقظاً بسبب القرود التي كانت تركض بجنون على السقف القش.


 

ماكيني

وفي طريق العودة إلى فريتاون، توقفنا في ماكيني لتناول طعام الغداء. كنت متحير من عدد غير متوقع من المحلات التجارية لها أسماء عربية. "هؤلاء هم تجار الماس اللبنانيون". عندما هرب اللبنانيون من بلادهم خلال الحرب الأهلية، جاء بعضهم إلى غرب أفريقيا للحصول على فرص جديدة. وبمجرد أن ازدهرت أعمال الماس، وجدوا أنفسهم في المكان المناسب في الوقت المناسب، مما يعني أنهم يسيطرون اليوم على الكثير من تجارة الماس الخام في سيراليون. إذن في المنظور العام للأشياء، يقوم عمال المناجم بكل عمل الحمار للعثور على الماس، واللبنانيين يدفعون لهم المبالغ الذهيدة، قبل بيع الماس لرجال الأعمال اليهود في أنتويرب / نيويورك / تل أبيب، الذين بعد ذلك يصنعوه ويصقلوه قبل أن ينتهوا به عادة تحت احتكار شركة DeBeers، الشركة التي تبيعه في جميع أنحاء العالم.


 

سائقي سيراليون

لا أحد يهزم سائقي سيراليون لأصالتهم، والعديد منهم يزينون سياراتهم بخطوط العلامات الشخصية الخاصة بهم.


 

فريتاون

العاصمة فريتاون، مكان مسحور ومجنون حيث لا كهرباء فيه ليلا. المرور هو كابوس لأنه كما هو الحال في المغرب، لا يوجد شيء مثل البقاء في الزقاق الخاص بك. أخذني سليمان إلى منزله للقاء عائلته وجيرانه. في فريتاون، نقص الكهرباء يعني أن الناس في معظم الأمسيات يجلسون مع جيرانهم نظرا لعدم وجود أجهزة تلفزيون.

عندما كنا وحدنا، سألت سليمان عن الحرب الأهلية لأنها أثرت مباشرة على القرية التي نشأ فيها.
"هؤلاء الناس ليس لديهم رحمة". "كل ليلة كنا نسمع إطلاق النار، وأحيانا نغادر، لكننا كنا نعود دائما إلى قريتنا، والمتمردون يأتون إلى هناك يبحثون عن الطعام أو النساء أو الأطفال {لتدريبهم كجنود أطفال}، ويتخذون ما يمكنهم العثور علىه، ويدمروا بعض الأشياء ومن ثم يختفون في الأدغال مرة أخرى، وكنت خائفاً جداً. مرة واحدة، طاردني أحد المتمردين ولكني هربت إلى الأدغال. "
"في يوم من الأيام كنا نطبخ بالقرب من القرية، يجب أن تكون حذر للطهي لأن المتمردين يستطيعون رؤية الدخان، ثم جاء بعض الرجال بالبنادق، فأخذوا أبي وجعلوه يتسلق تل، ولم يكن لديهم ذخيرة لاطلاق النار عليه، فقتلوه بوحشية بعمود سياج، وأنا أسرت ولكنني تمكنت من الفرار".

بدون مال، انطلق إلى فريتاون. وجد ورشة عمل على استعداد أن تأخذه صبي متدرب حتى يتمكن من التعلم ليكون ميكانيكي. ولكن في سيراليون المتدربين لا يحصلون على رواتب، هم مضطرون على دفع لصاحب الورشة حصة من المال.
"كان من الصعب الحصول على الطعام، كنت أغسل العربات للناس وكانوا يعطوني ما يكفي لتناول وجبة أساسية". " اليد - إلى - الفم" ظل مستمراً لعدة سنوات حتى اليوم الذي أحضر شخص فيه سيارة تالفة تماماً. وقال صاحب الورشة أنه لا يمكن إصلاحها. لكن سليمان لم يقتصر على إصلاح السيارة فحسب، بل قام بعمل جيد مثل هذا مما أدى إلى عمله كسائق. الطرق في سيراليون مروعة، لذلك الشخص الذي يمكنه قيادة وإصلاح السيارات هو مطلوب جداً. ثم بعد ذلك عمل وظيفة سائق لمؤسسة حكومية.
"رغبتي الوحيدة الآن هي تعليم أولادي". هو يرى عقبة جديدة تختمر "أريد امرأة أوروبية، لكنني لا أريد أن أكذب وأقول لها إنني لست متزوج، لكنها قد لا تريدني إذا كان لدي زوجة، أريد امرأة أوروبية فقط يمكن أن تأخذ ابني إلى جامعة في أوروبا ".


 

وبينما نظرت إلى الوراء وأنا في طريقي إلى المطار، كان من الصعب أن أصدق أنه قبل عشر سنوات فقط، وقعت حرب دموية على نفس الطرق التي كنت عليها، وأن نفس الأشخاص الذين كانوا يركضون إلي بابتسامات كبيرة على وجوههم، كانوا ربما يركضون في خوف من القتلة والمغتصبين الحاملين السلاح والخناجر. سأكون مضغوطاً بشدة للعثور على أي شخص أكثر قدرة على التحمل.

Sierra Leone trip report

 

Sierra Leone



"Your visa will be ready in 1 week". "I can't take a day off next week, can I not have it sooner?" I asked. "Ok, come back after lunch". As far as visa applications go, the Sierra Leone embassy is one of the most easy going.
Sierra Leone is one of those unique destinations you can't even begin to formulate expectations for. This tiny corner of West Africa usually known for blood diamonds, a brutal civil war, and savaged by the Ebola crisis, understandably isn't swarmed with tourists.

When I landed in Freetown, the airport being on an estuary, I had to take a small "Water Taxi" boat to get to the city. With choppy waters and the boat spewing stifling fumes, the ride was far from enjoyable. My friend Suleyman had arranged me a super cheap "authentic" hotel, which meant a rundown room with a fan, a cockroach, and 30 mins of electricity before the generator broke down, leaving me in the darkness like most of the city.

 

Gold & diamond mines

We started the day with a 5 hours drive to a village where they mine for gold and diamonds. It was a smooth road until Magburaka, then the pavement was cast away into the rear-view mirror as we went through massive dirt hills and several passes through the forest. It seemed inconceivable that we were actually heading toward something.


 

When we reached the village, I was introduced to the chief. "Many people come here for our gold and we need to make sure you aren't here to do business" after a lengthy discussion, he allowed me to take a look at the mines. The mines were basically large pits manually dug out. Machines were not employed, just shovels, picks, buckets, sieves and bare hands.


 

Drenched in sweat and mud, workers were taking gravel and dirt to the river so they could sift through it to look for gold and diamonds. Over time, the iron-rich soil (iron is red) had turned the river completely red. One of the workers offered me some kola nuts which were incredibly bitter. They were not eating them for the taste, but to suppress hunger.

When gold is found, the proceeds are shared equally amongst the workers. This ensured no one would hide it and try to sell it on their own. They were also unaware of the actual price of gold on the international markets. The hard hitting reality is that six days a week under the punishing sun, these men and women plunge their aching bodies and shovels in seemingly bottomless pits of earth with complete disregard for health & safety, making a pittance for something whose purpose is merely to make a woman in another world gush, or to decorate some pompous person's bathroom.

The miners asked me to try panning for gold in the river, and I actually found a few tiny nuggets on my first attempt. Everyone started calling me "lucky guy" after that. Back in the village, everyone had heard, all the pregnant women asked to kiss their bellies hoping my "good luck" would rub off on their future offspring.


 

Rural Sierra Leone

We then went to a nearby village, where I was welcomed by kids screaming "Opoto! Opoto!" the local word for white man, even though I tried to explain I'm Moroccan, not so much an opoto. This village was virtually unchanged over the centuries, with no running water, no electricity, no telephones and little contact with the outside world. The villagers were mostly rice farmers.

Everyone was enthusiastic and excited at the opportunity to befriend a foreign stranger, they were very curious about Morocco and asking many questions. I was also invited to a gathering between the chief and the village representatives. After a while the chief was looking at me and said they would like me to say something too.
I spent the night in a mud brick house, but was kept awake by monkeys running amok on the straw roof.


 

Makeni

On the way back to Freetown, we stopped at Makeni for lunch. I was perplexed by the unexpectedly high number of shops with Arab names. "These are Lebanese diamond traders". When the Lebanese fled their country during the civil war, some came to West Africa for new opportunities. Just as the diamond business flourished, they found themselves in the right place at the right time, which means that today they control a lot of the trade of rough diamonds in Sierra Leone. So in the grand scheme of things, the miners do all the donkey work finding diamonds, the Lebanese pay them peanuts, before selling the diamonds to Jewish business people in Antwerp/New York/Tel Aviv, who then cut and polish them before they usually end up under the monopoly of DeBeers, the company which sells them all over the world.


 

Sierra Leone drivers

No one beats Sierra Leone drivers for originality, many decorate their cars with their own personalised tag lines.


 

Freetown

The capital city, Freetown, is a frenetic and crazy place that has no electricity at night. Traffic is a nightmare because just like in Morocco, there's no such thing as staying in your lane. Suleyman took me to his house to meet his family and neighbours. In Freetown, the lack of electricity means that on most evenings, people hang out with their neighbours since there are no TVs.

Once we were alone, I asked Suleyman about the civil war as it directly affected the village where he grew up.
"Those people had no mercy". "Every night we would hear the gunfire. Sometimes we would leave, but we always went back to our village. The rebels would come there looking for food, women, or children {to train as child soldiers}. They would take what they could find, destroy some things and then disappear into the bush again. I was very scared. Once, a rebel chased me but I escaped into the bush."
"One day, we were cooking close to the village. You have to be careful cooking because the rebels can see the smoke. Then some men came with guns. They made my dad walk up a hill. They had no ammo to shoot him, so they brutally murdered him with a fence post. I was captured but I managed to escape."

With no money, he set off for Freetown. He found a garage willing to take him on as an apprentice so he could learn to be a mechanic. But in Sierra Leone apprentices don't get paid, they have to pay the garage owner a cut.
"It was hard to get food. I would wash vehicles for people and they would give me just enough for a basic meal." This hand-to-mouth existence continued for several years until the day someone brought in a car that was very badly damaged. The garage said it was beyond repair. But Suleyman not only fixed the car - he did such a good job that it led to work as a driver. Roads in Sierra Leone are in bad shape, so someone who can drive and fix cars is very much in demand. He then landed a job driving for a government institution.
"My only desire now is to educate my children." He sees a different dilemma brewing "I want a European woman, but I don't want to lie and tell her I am not married. But she may not want me if I already have a wife. I only want a European woman so she can take my son to a university in Europe."


 

As I looked back on my way to the airport, it was hard to believe that just 10 years earlier, a bloody war took place along the same roads I was on, that the very same people who were running to me with big smiles on their faces were probably running in fear from murderers and rapists carrying guns and machetes. I'd be hard pressed to find anyone more resilient.

country.php?c=sierraleone